I Am Rails (And So Can You!) at RuLu 2012

I don’t know if the video from Campus Party Europe is up yet, but this from when I gave the same talk at RuLu in June.

About joanwolk

3 things I like: theater, food, geekery. 3 things I don't like: clich├ęs, blisters, coffee.
Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Am Rails (And So Can You!) at RuLu 2012

  1. Joshua Kemp says:

    Hey Joan, loved your talk! I’m on a learning journey to become a junior RoR developer and was wondering, how many hours per day do you think you devoted to studying, just trying to get a baseline idea. All the best!

    • joanwolk says:

      On average, maybe about 2-3 hours per day, 5 days a week. I was unemployed at the time, so that was pretty easy for me. On the other hand, it’s also possible to put in a similar weekly commitment around a job if you’re highly motivated. Not everyone will benefit from cramming all that work into the weekend, though, because sometimes it’s helpful to let ideas percolate for a while. It’s probably best to try to do a little bit at a time more frequently, and enjoy it! Just remember there will certainly be frustrating moments, and you don’t need to have the immediate feeling of mastery to end up being really good at it. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

